Lessons learned

So I haven’t written in a while. Never mind. 

In this time I have been doing a level 2 course in counselling. At the start of the course the tutor told us in no uncertain terms that it would change our lives and alter us fundamentally as people. As I guess most  would, I scoffed inwardly at this. But oh hey, the guy was right. These past few months have been an amazing learning experience and I’ve got to know some lovely and inspiring folk who differ so widely from eachother and myself.

Our tutor explained throughout that becoming a counsellor alters your life considerably, your perceptions take on a new level of awareness and you learn not to sweat the small stuff. I think this has happened a little for me, and will hopefully continue to develop.

I don’t really have any finely crafted pearls of wisdom but my tutor’s advice to us all was basically to cut out all the shit. It’s OK to dislike people. It’s OK to dislike a lot of people. And it’s totally fine if those people dislike you. Cutting out those who bring negativity and niggling seething sensations in your tummy is a really good thing. Knowing that some people think you’re an asshole and being completely at peace with that is even better. 

He told us that losing fairweather friends, acquaintances and casual gossips is a great thing. If you’re isolated to a certain degree, you know that the people you surround yourself with are genuinely worth your time, and these connections are so much more rewarding. 

It’s hard at first I guess but eventually you realise that a few good people are worth countless shitty ones. 

This husky in a fridge knows what I mean.

Image

 

Leave a comment